Democracy Defenders sign on letter

October 27, 2020

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds
Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate
Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller
Iowa Auditor Rob Sand
Iowa Speaker of the House Pat Grassley

Iowa Senator Jack Whitver
Iowa County Auditors

Elected officials of Iowa:

Nationwide, voter suppression and intimidation, lack of polling locations and poll workers, and the public health threat caused by the global Covid-19 pandemic have all combined to create serious barriers to voting. President Trump himself has attacked the integrity of our election system, the U.S. Postal Service, absentee ballots, and voting by mail.

As the elected leaders in our state, you have a sworn duty to uphold our democratic process, especially when our elections are threatened. 

We, a growing statewide alliance of labor unions, community organizations, student groups, faith communities, and political leaders, call on you to fulfill this critical responsibility.

American citizens have the right to vote and have their vote counted. This is a bedrock principle of a democratic society. It’s not up to the president to decide what ballots get counted and which ones don’t.

As the Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Auditor, Speaker of the House, Senate Majority Leader, and county auditors of Iowa, you must put democracy over politics, honor the votes and voices of the people, count every vote, and reaffirm that this election is not over until every vote is counted.

The people of Iowa have entrusted you with the power to oversee free and fair elections. How will you use that power to make sure every citizen who wants to vote can vote, and that the results of the election will not be certified until every vote is counted?


Democracy Defenders Iowa
2001 Forest Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa 50311

Jaylen Cavil
Des Moines Black Liberation Movement

Tamara Marcus and Nicole LeGrand
Advocates for Social Justice Cedar Rapids

Denise Cheeseman, Dulce Escorcia, and Alexa Rodriguez
Iowa Student Action

Joe Henry, political director
Nick Salavar, state director

Cherie Mortice and Pat Bowen
Iowa Citizens for Community Improvement Action Fund

Charlie Wishman
President, Iowa Federation of Labor AFL-CIO

Iowa State Education Association

Danny Homan
AFSCME Council 61

Brad D. Greve
President, Great River Area Labor Federation AFL-CIO

Mark Cooper
President, South Central Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Scott Punteney
President, Western Iowa Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

Connie Ryan
Interfaith Alliance of Iowa and Action Fund

Matt Russell, executive director
Deaconess Irene R. DeMaris, associate director
Iowa Interfaith Power & Light

Courtney Reyes
One Iowa

Matt Sinovic
Director, Progress Iowa

Amber Bordolo 
Executive Director, Quad Cities Interfaith

Julia Zalenski
Prairielands Freedom Fund

John Jepsen
UE Local 896-COGS

Cathy Glasson and Katie Biechler
SEIU Local 199

Emily Sinnwell, Maureen Vasile, Ann Houlahan
Iowa City Catholic Worker House

Ala Mohamed
Iowa Freedom Riders

Kimberly Karol
President, Iowa Postal Workers Union

Audrey Keith
Iowa City Democratic Socialists of America

Nate Monson
Iowa Safe Schools

Frank Cordaro
Des Moines Catholic Worker 

Mazahir Salih 
Interim Executive Director 
The Center for Worker Justice of Eastern Iowa 

Olga Guevara
Executive Director, Unity in Action, an organization that works with the Siouxland Latinx community

Chris Schwartz
Iowans for Democratic Action
Black Hawk County Supervisor

Eloise Cranke, Coordinator
Methodist Federation for Social Action, Iowa chapter

Ahna Kruzic
Director, Women, Food and Agriculture Network

Juan Manuel Galvez Ibarra
El Trueque Latino Magazine

Stephany Hoffelt
Iowa City Mutual Aid Collective

Andrew Thomas and Sabri Sky, Board Members

Mandi Nichols, Director
Corridor Community Action Network

Eddie Mauro
New Frontier Action Fund

Rob Johnson
No Justice No Peace

Sikowis (Christine Nobiss)
Great Plains Action Society

Senator Janet Peterson
Democratic Leader, Iowa Senate
Senate District 18

Senator Herman C.  Quirmbach
Senate District 23

Senator Tony Bisignano
Senate District 17

Senator Claire Celsi
Senate District 21

Senator Bill Dotzler
Senate District 31

Senator Zach Wahls
Senate District 37

Senator Jim Lykam
Senate District  45

Senator Joe Bolkcom
Senate District 43

Senator Nate Boulton
Senate District 16

Senator Eric Giddens
Senate District 30

Senator Rob Hogg
Senate District 33

Representative Marti Anderson
House District 36

Representative David Jacoby
House District 74

Representative Mary Mascher
House District 86

Representative Ross Wilburn
House District 46

Representative Liz Bennett
House District 65

Stacey Walker
Linn County Supervisor

Lisa Green-Douglas
Johnson County Board of Supervisors

Rod Sullivan
Johnson County Board of Supervisors

Patrick Morrissey
Ward 3 City Councilman, Waterloo

Jonathan Greider
Waterloo City Councilor Ward 2

Ross Grooters
Pleasant Hill City Council

Roxanna Moritz
Scott County Auditor and Commissioner of Elections

Want to learn more? Want to add your organization’s name to the pledge to defend our votes this election season? Email and let us know.

Tags: , , ,