In The News

Bakken Pipeline legislative update

The future of SF 506 and what we can do about it...

read more

Contact the Government Oversight Committee!

Stop the Bakken Pipeline! Contact members of the Government Oversight Committee to make sure they vote yes on HSB 249 (in the House) and SSB 1276 (in the Senate), the “no eminent domain for private gain” legislation currently active at the Capitol.  To send letters to these Committee members: 1007 East Grand Avenue Des Moines, Iowa 50319 Government Oversight Committee (House): House switchboard: (515)281-3221   Bobby Kaufmann (Wilton), Chair bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov   Greg Heartsill (Chariton), Vice Chair greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov   Ruth Ann Gaines (Des Moines), Ranking Member Ruthann.gaines@legis.iowa.gov   Clel Baudler (Adair County) clel.baudler@legis.iowa.gov   Peter Cownie (West Des Moines) peter.cownie@legis.iowa.gov   Vicki S. Lensing (Iowa City) Vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov   Dawn E. Pettengill (Mount Auburn) dawn.pettengill@legis.iowa.gov   Phyllis Thede (Scott County) Phyllis.thede@legis.iowa.gov   Mary Lynn...

read more

Good legislature news! Necessary bill, SSB 1266, advances

Senate Study Bill 1266 (SSB 1266) to end the pollution control property tax exemption for factory farms...

read more

Legislation to weaken Clean Water Fight stopped

Check out this win in the Clean Water Fight...

read more

LTE: Iowa families need a living wage

Satyra is a single mother of three. This is her take on why Iowa needs a living wage.

read more

Espey: Iowa needs a $15/hour minimum wage

Iowans cannot survive on $7.25. We need $15 an hour. This is why.

read more

What happened this legislative session: funnel II report

What happened this legislative session...

read more